top of page
  • Writer's pictureLy

I've always wanted to write but...

Updated: Jan 9, 2018

Have you ever wanted to do something you love so much but end up doing nothing?




I have. Its has been a decade since I planned on starting my own blog but for a lot of reasons (or excuses) I never got around to doing it. I started with a journal which I'd kept and treasured but eventually lost due to a flood caused by Typhoon Ondoy back in 2009. I was so devastated then especially since I lost my entire collection of books, toys and fandom merchandise which was mostly Harry Potter. But that was just one of my many excuses then, which I still carry with me until now. I never did seem to run out of reasons why I couldn't (and there for shouldn't) do it. "I'm too busy with school work I don't even have time to unwind anymore," and "I don't know how to do and have no one to teach me" were just some of the reasons I had back then but a decade after, I find myself saying something similar still. The reasons do not get any shorter and the time spent delaying keeps getting longer and before I know it, I'd have wasted another decade prolonging what I want to do. I know it's cliche but I couldn't think of a better time to start this than now. The list of reasons not to pursue something will only keep growing as long as you keep thinking about it and not acting on it. Sometimes, these reasons are valid and often times it is something that can be properly addressed with hard work, determination and a little bit of help and research. Often times, however, they are just excuses for us to stay complacent and comfortable but never pursuing growth. I'd like to share this quote from Alan Cohen, " To grow, you must be willing to let your present and future be totally unlike your past. Your history is not your destiny.”


I still have a lot of doubts and fears about this, one of which is not being good enough but instead of just thinking and fretting about it, I'm choosing to act and work on addressing it to become better. And if you're having similar thoughts about anything you've been wanting to do, I hope that this post has given you some inspiration to act on it soon if not now.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page