top of page
  • Writer's pictureLy

Illuminae Files: Book Review

Which books have you bought because of a stunning cover?


Illuminae : The Illuminae Files_01 was one of the most memorable read I've picked up at a bookstore initially as a cover buy. It looked like a lengthy read but given the unique format, it was surprisingly a quick yet intense read. I love sci – fi movies but have not read a lot of novels in this genre but Illuminae just changed that. The novel was set on the distant future, year 2575, at planet Kerenza hidden at the edge of the universe with two unlikely protagonists and ex couple, Kady Grant and Ezra Mason, who had to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet together after a long time of barely talking to each other since their break up. Their abrupt reunion turned into a series of exchange of messages since they were on board different fleets, Hypatia and Alexander. The secrets of their past and their chemistry, aside from the impending doom or invasion of their planet, got me reading through the first few chapters until things became a lot more interesting. I instantly fell in love with the rawness of the conversations and the personalities of Kady and Ezra, who truly seem to still care a lot for each other, and it was probably my curiosity about their past relationship that had saved me from a slight boredom about some narrations during the first part. I loved Kady’s character a lot and have automatically included her on my list of favorite badass heroines even before I reached the ending. Oh, and speaking of the ending, I found myself holding my breath as I reached that part and when I thought it was all over – IT WAS NOT. It was truly epic and I couldn’t help but squeal with glee after finally seeing the entire picture revealed before me. SOOOOO ▇▇▇▇▇▇ GOOD! Reading this book felt like watching a suspense sci – fi thriller filled with zombies (YES! It was a pleasant surprise indeed📷), corporate warfare, witty comebacks, and swoon – worthy moments. i.e. an epic space opera. The book wouldn’t be as good without a compelling antagonist that will make you feel torn about everything you’ve thought and felt during the second part of the book. Having said that, I would actually like to express my love for AIDAN and its tandem with Kady – they’re such an epic dynamic duo and I am in love with them both. Don’t get me wrong, I do love Ezra as well and am looking forward to reading more of them soon (REALLY SOON!).

The collection of emails, articles, interviews, memorandums, footage summaries, personal messages and witty narration from the Illuminae Group that comprised the dossier that is Illuminae made me feel emotions I never thought I’d get from reading a sci – fi novel. I laughed, cried, got terrified and on the edge of my couch and bed, and even found myself falling in love with the characters while reading the book. I find myself always recommending this book to both readers and non-readers alike and am happy to have had a couple of friends read and love this as well.

I still have a lot of doubts and fears about this, one of which is not being good enough but instead of just thinking and fretting about it, I'm choosing to act and work on addressing it to become better. And if you're having similar thoughts about anything you've been wanting to do, I hope that this post has given you some inspiration to act on it soon if not now.


Rating:


Cover – ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Characters - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Plot - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Impression - ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Entertainment - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Overall: 4.8

25 views0 comments
bottom of page