top of page
  • Writer's pictureLy

And I was Starstruck!

I finally finished my first book for the month of April (I'm excluding ACOWAR since I haven't officially finished the last 30 pages of it because my heart can't go on ANDDD because I'm trying to stretch it out until ACOFAS *insert LMAO emoticon*) and I'm excited to start reading the sequel in this trilogy already!


First of, I'd like to thank the author for giving me an opportunity to review an e - book copy in exchange for an honest review.


"You know that moment you wake up and everything is good with the world? When you snuggle in the sheets and think that life might just be perfect? And then wonder why you need to get up, and if you could stay llike this forever, or if anybody would even notice if you were gone?"


In this sci - fi novel, we follow the narration of Sally Weber, a depressed college - dropout, as an unlikely incident changes her life forever - starting with losing her job at the department store and then running over an alien who later becomes her roommate and... friend? Curious? I was, too!


"All I need is... a job, a roommate, and, well, a life."


The book was an easy and fun read especially since the MC was relatable in a lot of ways. She's someone who struggles with adulting (don't we all?) while battling with depression, and just when she thought it couldn't get any worse, she realized she had to save the world.


"LIFE GIVES ME LEMONS"


I loved all the references in the book from Netflix to Quidditch, watching Futurama, and other things a reader (and people from the 21st century) could relate to. She was definitely realistic and easy to connect with. I loved how the writing enabled us to go connect with Sally and get a feel of how she's dealing with the events happening in the book as if watching a movie. I loved her friendship with Marcy, which I hoped to have read more of later in the book especially since they were the best of friends. I also wished to have found out what Dani's role in the book was largely because of how peculiar her character stood out initially.


There were also other questions I wished were answered in the book but were not addressed in the book, which I'm hoping will be addressed in the sequels (so excited to read them!). I'm also looking forward to the development of Zander and Sally's relationship especially since 1) I loved Zander. He's just hunky - dory (LOL) and adorable as if he couldn't save planets and civilizations on his own or with his sister; and 2) because their relationship wasn't really expounded on in the book.


SPOILER ALERT!


I was also wondering why Sally didn't tell the truth to Zander and Blayed about what happened to Matt in the end. I do liked how Matt was able to be do an impactful exit in the end although sad that they never got to patch up their relationship.


There were some occassional plot holes in the book, but it was a refreshing and interesting read overall and am excited on how the story will continue.


Rating:

Cover – ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Characters - ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Plot - ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Impression - ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Entertainment - ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 1/2

Overall: 4.1

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page