top of page
  • Writer's pictureLy

Oh my stars! Heirs of Power, Book One of the Constellation Saga Spoiler - free Review

I was absolutely hooked with the Constellations Saga by Kay Macleod after finishing Heirs of Power.

Follow me on IG: @Ly_brary


It made me miss playing RPG games so I actually did go online and slayed... I meant played after I finished reading it 📷 admittedly, the start was a little slow for me and it took a while before I got attached to the main character. The book gave me the feels of what it's like to be on a quest, similar to Rick Riordan's books. The characters were quite diverse and I loved that in a book especially one with different setting.

In terms of the characters, I only got attached to one and because of him, I felt closer to the main character. I think I could relate to him most given the same scenario. I find myself defending him, wanting him to be understood by the other characters, but I never did pity him (which is what he doesn't want anyone to do). I did, however, find the MC to be agreeable, and so did the other constellations. I loved that the plot chose to focus on them in the climax especially since it's quite difficult to focus on the group and have a proper character development for each. The author did a good job knowing when to shift the focus to make the plot pack a punch, to develop a character more, and introduce a new character.

It wasn't really slow paced but it took a while before I got into the zone with this book, although but when I did, it made me excited to read the sequel. It's important for me to get attached to the characters in order for me to get hooked in a series and this book did just that. I find myself wondering what would happen next and I've been anticipating what twists I'll encounter in the sequels. I do wish, however, for better character development for the other characters but I'll definitely want to continue reading this series


Rating:

Cover – ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Characters - ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Plot - ⭐⭐⭐1/2

Impression - ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Entertainment - ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Overall: 3.9

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page